Teppan Edo Review

by josh on December 11, 2013

Dinner takes us to Teppan Edo, the hibachi-grill-arm of the Japan Pavilion. Yes the diagram says “Tokto Dining,” but the website does not have the resources to print another thousand copies with the correct spelling. You get what you pay for.

The restaurant is located up the stairs. A check-in podium is located outside on the ground level. Earlier in the day, you can pop over and inquire about reservations like it’s 1999.

The waiting area is shared with Tokyo Dining, which is the more modern looking restaurant that focuses on sushi and tempura. The website has a full review that begins about a quarter of the way down this post. Unlike Tokyo Dining, Teppan Edo does not accept the Tables in Wonderland discount and does not offer lunch specials at a reduced price. Teppan Edo does currently offer 10% off lunch to Annual Passholders from Monday – Friday with additional exclusions like no discount on Christmas Day. You may want to take that into consideration if you’re looking for a discount.

The restaurant consists of a single hallway with multiple rooms to the right, each with four hibachi grill stations.

Each station sits eight people and your party will most likely be seated with others if it doesn’t fill a full grill.

Fortunately for the anti-social among us, nobody sits face to face in close proximity, so things can be a bit less awkward than Biergarten. Of course, Biergarten also serves beer by the liter and things tend to be a little friendlier there. Your tablemates are a big YMMV. Personally, I really enjoy harassing/”getting to know” people, so it’s not a big deal. The unfortunate couple seated next to us were big Miami football fans and were just coming off a big loss to Florida State. My gf is a big Florida State fan, and I am thus, also a big Florida State fan. They were looking forward to a rematch in the ACC Championship, laughing heartily about the lack of competition from the likes of Duke and Georgia Tech. I am not a football expert, but I don’t think that worked out for them.

Teppan Edo is on the expensive side, but this is also about as much as you can expect to pay for an entree at most Epcot restaurants, so it’s sort of a wash. Popular sentiment here is that most cities have a hibachi grill restaurant and eating at Edo is expensive and redundant. That may be true, but that doesn’t seem to affect people headed to Tutto Italia for a $27 plate of lasagna, San Angel for $32 enchiladas, Nine Dragons for $22 Orange Chicken, etc. These same cities would certainly have Chinese restaurants, Italian restaurants, etc. Although you could certainly argue that eating those enchiladas under perpetual twilight at the base of a pyramid, while Gran Fiesta boats gently meander by, is more novel than Teppan Edo’s sleek/sterile environment. To compare prices to the Orlando Benihana, their Filet Mignon is $25 ($32 here), Steak and Chicken is $26.25 ($29.95), and Children’s Meals are about $10 ($13). So we are not necessarily talking about an astronomical upcharge.

The rest of the menu:

I have never met anybody that enjoyed the Frozen Beer and $8.50 for a bottle of Sapporo is literally insane.



My preference is the shochu cocktails, which are a little different than your typical mixed vodka drink. From my experience, nothing here is particularly strong.

Chris/DoctorK from the forums/Twitter was nice enough to invite me out to dinner. He ordered the Mandarin Orange Martini – Mandarin Orange Vodka, Orange Juice, Sour Mix – $9. Tasty, but pretty weak.

I ordered the Chu Hi – A common Japanese way to enjoy. Shochu, Soda, choice of fresh squeezed orange or lemon juice – $8. Orange juice was my selection and it tasted mostly like orange juice. Refreshing and light or weak and a waste of money – it’s your call.

A (usually if not always) female server will take your drink, appetizer, entree, etc. order at the start of the meal. She’ll return throughout to refill beverages and make sure you’re taken care of.

Everyone’s entrees are cooked table-side at the grill by a usually older, male chef.

There are some fun elements here, including the onion volcano.

And the shrimp toss.

ACTION SHOT.

You can run into the occasional serious, “grumpy,” all-business chef, but the majority are charming and happy to answer whatever questions you might have about the food, Japan, or the meaning of life.

A flavorful, tender sukiyaki beef rice is served first. Vegetarians (or anyone else) should be able to switch out white rice.

Chow mein, consisting of udon noodles, zucchini, and onions follows next.

Then comes the meat, cooked to your specifications. It can take a few extra minutes for your meat to arrive after your noodles are plated. The smart money is on eating some of the noodles and rice prior to the meat or you risk half your meal being cold by the time you take your first bite. Think of the chow mein and rice as “free appetizers.”

I ordered the Asakua – Steak and Shrimp – $30.95. The steak here is perhaps under-seasoned by itself, but all entrees are served with three sauces – ginger, mustard, and “yum yum.” Dipping the steak and other meat into the sauce (yum yum in particular) provides that extra zip of flavor.

Chris ordered the Kajiki Maguro – Swordfish Steak – $27.95.

Tilted for your pleasure. This is potentially a little different than your standard steak/shrimp/chicken found at your local Benihana. It was tender, lean, and flavorful without being particularly fishy.

I asked our Miami friend to snap a pic of his Nihonboshi – Steak and Chicken Breast – $29.95.

He also ordered the Nigori Genshu – Nigori or “cloudy sake,” very sweet and flavorable [sic], hints of cream and vanilla – $11.

Service was friendly and efficient. It is occasionally difficult to understand what they’re saying, but it’s part of the charm of eating at an authentically Japanese restaurant in the middle of one of the most visited theme parks in the world that happens to be situated in the United States. I think it helps that the servers are concerned with your beverages and other needs while the chef takes care of the food.

Teppan Edo costs about the same as dinner at any other Epcot restaurant. While there are Japanese steakhouse/hibachi restaurants strewn throughout the United States and elsewhere, Teppan Edo is unique in its atmosphere, menu, and presentation, much like the other restaurants around World Showcase. The menu is also more accessible than you might expect to the steak and potato crowd. With one sit-down meal in Epcot, it isn’t necessarily the restaurant I would pick first, but it remains high on my list and I think most people will thoroughly enjoy it.

Thanks again to Chris for inviting me out. Next time we’ll do V&A’s.

{ 38 comments… read them below or add one }

Dawn H December 11, 2013 at 3:39 pm

great review! do you take notes? geez! … we love Teppan Edo we’ve eaten here a few times, we have a Fujiyama in our town here at home, and there is just something ‘better’ about Teppan Edo Ü

Erica December 11, 2013 at 4:04 pm

I love Teppan Edo!

Megan December 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Thanks for the great review. What are your rankings for Epcot Table Service Meals? We are getting Park Hopper for our upcoming Christmas trip and are planning on trying a lot of places in the World Showcase.

Chris December 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Wow, V & A?

“Well, we’re moving on up…”

Dani December 11, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I can’t stand that place. They need those three sauces desperately. I feel like they under season everything just so they don’t offend anyone who is trying something “different”. I understand I’m at Disney, and I understand I can get better prices/food down the street, but I feel like the other countries don’t skimp on flavor just to appease the peeps.

Lissy December 11, 2013 at 5:41 pm

We gave up on them a few years ago. Expensive and redundant for sure. Also why we don’t eat in Italy.

dragonfly December 11, 2013 at 6:57 pm

I have only eaten here one time and that was with my then 9 year old son. We were sat with a group of 6 and then the hostess told us that someone in the other group had a shrimp allergy and we could not order shrimp. I just wish they had asked if that was ok before sitting us. I have a friend with several food allergies so I know the fustrations of trying to eat out and didn’t want to make a fuss so we stayed and we enjoyed the company but I think a party of 6 in this case could have had the table to themselves.

Sarah December 11, 2013 at 7:10 pm

“With one sit-down meal in Epcot, it isn’t necessarily the restaurant I would pick first” which totally leads me to ask, which restaurant would you pick first? (And possibly second?)

Jennifer December 11, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Looking forward to it. We don’t have anything similar here.

mike December 11, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Let me tell you I ate there for the first time a few hours ago and was totally impressed it was awesome

pfalcioni December 11, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Why is there a fork on your plate?

bnoble December 11, 2013 at 10:19 pm

“…eating at an authentically Japanese restaurant…”

Wait. Wat?

You do know that teppanyaki restaurants in Japan are for the Gaijin, right?

josh December 11, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Guys please stop making fun of me.

I really like Via Napoli.

AlienTheMum December 12, 2013 at 12:09 am

Josh, Via Napoli 1. I need one more in Epcot please what is your second choice?

Kerrie December 12, 2013 at 4:54 am

I love Teppan Edo. I actually went to a local Hibachi place a few weeks ago, and I commented how Teppan Edo was way better. I have been waiting and waiting for your V&A review! I can’t wait to read it.

bnoble December 12, 2013 at 6:19 am

Via Napoli: great choice!

But, the one you pick should be based on what YOU want, have easily at home, etc. For example, my wife and I like CdF. The food isn’t all that great, but it reminds us both of past trips to Paris–something we’ve only done a few times, but really enjoyed.

We also like Hacienda and even the widely panned San Angel, because the Mexican places in Ann Arbor are awful. But someone from, say, Albuqurque would never set foot in either.

Shannon F December 12, 2013 at 6:36 am

I remember going here years ago as a teenager with my family. I have no idea if it was called Teppan Edo or something else. What I did find interesting was that you sat in the floor. The table was just a little bit above floor level and the seats were built into the floor. I thought that element made it better than the place here where i live. But it does appear that they now have regular chairs.

Jeremy December 12, 2013 at 6:57 am

Just went to Teppan Edo last week. We really enjoyed it and the Disney dining plan made the menu prices much easier to deal with.

Sean M. December 12, 2013 at 7:02 am

Megan, on the main page is a link to Epcot restuarant reviews where Josh provides his review/rankings of the top Epcot restaurants. I haven’t tried all of them but of those I’ve had Teppan Edo is my favorite (though not as good as ‘Ohana) and Rose & Crown most disappointing.

Bernadette December 12, 2013 at 7:05 am

Wow, dragonfly – I would not have been happy if that happened to me. We have a kajillion food allergies (which is a big part of the reason we love Disney – safe dining), but I would never want our situation to negatively impact what might be another person’s only chance to experience a particular restaurant.

Ana December 12, 2013 at 7:09 am

We were there last week. We had a wonderful time and my 4 year old loved it. That alone was worth the cost! The chef kept him entertained and he ate all of his food, he even tried sushi!

Cliff Hartle December 12, 2013 at 8:22 am

>“…eating at an authentically Japanese restaurant…”

>Wait. Wat?

>You do know that teppanyaki restaurants in Japan are for the Gaijin, right?

Also since you brought it up. Unless there were large urns holding charcoal used for heat, there were no hibachis there. The grill is as posted a teppanyaki grill.

But yes in Japan Benihana’s is called Benihana’s of New York since its not traditional Japanese food but food created for the GI’s stationed in Japan after WWII.

We would never go there since we do have a few Japanese Steakhouses around here and even though they are cheaper, I don;t think we get our money’s worth.

Kate December 12, 2013 at 10:16 am

If you want a *slightly* more private experience, the room at the very far end of the hall only houses 2 tables.

Dana December 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

Thanks for the review. I’ve been waiting what seems like forever for your V and A review…can’t wait to read it!!

Asha December 12, 2013 at 11:35 am

I want all the shrimp. We love hibatchi.

tanya December 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

I’ll eat at Via Napoli every day. Pizza is a main food group.

Zavandor December 12, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Teppan Edo grants to DVC members 10% discount at lunch. Also, I’ve taken a combo menu for lunch, I don’t remember details, but it was a reasonable price for an entree and an ice cream.

Anonymous December 12, 2013 at 2:19 pm

That rice bowl seemed kind of small. Did you feel like it was enough rice?

RebeccaMcK December 12, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Does anyone know how much shrimp generally comes with the kid’s entree? Next year is the last year my kiddo will be considered a child at Disney (age 9) and she can eat a LOT of shrimp. I just wondered if I’d wind up ordering extra for her if we dined there.

Dani December 12, 2013 at 7:51 pm

@RebeccaMcK…my five year old got the shrimp and they gave him eight.

lucy December 13, 2013 at 4:23 am

We love hibachi but believe it or not we have three locally. One of which is absolutely amazing, with double the food at half the price of Teppan Edo. Needless to say we always skip Teppan Edo. On the other hand we have no Italian beyond the local bad pizza place. I have yet to figure that one out. So when we do eat a table service at WDW we tend to prefer Italian. And Via Napoli, when they actually cook the pizza, is amazing!

mike December 13, 2013 at 5:38 am

Tokyo dining was also very good I think I’m going to have a tough choice next year

RebeccaMcK December 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm

@Dani – Thanks!

Robert December 14, 2013 at 8:18 am

This is always are go-to place for Candlelight.
Youngest loves the place and we have always had great tablemates.
We even met a couple that have become close friends.
That is part of the fun and you always can pick up new hints from your new friends.

One thing should mention is that if you have kids who are doing the autograph thing, the cook has always given a very special one. And will usually ask the kids name and show them how to make it.

gokdog December 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm

We had a great meal at Teppan Edo last month, across the board with us it was our favorite “experience” and the food was top notch. Especially staying at Beach Club we tried to do Dinner at Epcot when we could and this will definitely be on our next trip too!

Strangely, even after a good experience at Via Napoli in Downtown Disney @ Disneyland, it was just ok for us at WDW. Probably would skip next time.

Aaron December 15, 2013 at 9:41 am

How hard is it to get into Victoria and Alberts? Like, if I wanted to book the kitchen table in 2017, when should I start calling? Is it 180 days out like everything else?

John December 16, 2013 at 9:19 am

Teppan Edo is okay for the ‘novelty’ …but the food has been in a downward spiral for a few years now …both quality and quantity.

They have also toned down the “show” by the chef’s …with no live fire on the grill …as in the flaming onion volcano …or the trail that they painted on the grill and then lit. (Don’t know if this was due to safety concerns …but …for the insane prices they charge, it’d be nice to get some better table-side entertainment)

Chefs are hit or miss regarding personality. We had the same chef two years in a row and he was great. But we’ve also had some real wet-blankets.

It’s been easy to gauge the changes there because we have gone each of out 11 visits over 10 years. (even when it was called Teppanyaki).

…oh …as mentioned in the review the frozen beer is a definite PASS! And the prices for beer almost want to make you sneak in your own!! I get a large bottle of Kirin Ichiban (22 oz) at a local hibachi restaurant ..and it’s $6.75.

…..definitely off our ‘go to’ list.

DUSTY CHEATHAM January 4, 2014 at 4:40 am

go noles GO NOLES , GO NOLES .

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: